The #1 Cupcake in DC: Baked and Wired!

The moment we’ve ALL been waiting for is finally here! (okay, that may be a bit of an exaggeration but just play along with me here) Now that finals are over for most everyone (sorry if you’re not, you will be done soon!) and I’ve had a week to settle in at home, there is no better time than now to let you all know who the Crazy About Cupcakes blog has decided has THE best cupcake in DC.

So just to give you a little bit of a run-down of my semester in DC:

I went to 16(!) different cupcake shops in DC.

Attended the first ever Cupcake Challenge Cocktail hour with nearly 1,000 (woah.) of my closest cupcake enthusiast friends.

Received over 50 free cupcakes throughout the semester! (wow… I promise I didn’t eat all of those alone…)

And finally, I definitely THOUGHT about cupcakes nearly 24 hours a day :)

And now… The WINNER is… After 5-6 trips to the shop this semester I am more than proud to announce ….

While there were SO many good cupcakes in DC, Baked and Wired ran away with the show in Week #2. I found myself going back every single time someone new came to town and even carried one all the way to Marco Island for Spring break! Now THAT is the sign of a good cupcake.

Here are some pictures of the bakery to give you a feel for everything wonderful about them .

Tucked away just perfectly - Once you find the shop you won't ever want to miss them again!

You can't resist a shop that is this upbeat even with snow on the ground

Photo courtesy of http://freefoodboston.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/img_4293.jpg

The Cupcake Counter with beautiful bell jars prominently and proudly displaying the prized cupcakes!

The Cupcake that won my heart more and more with each bite. Incredible.

Well known marketing professional David Heyman and his wife recently decided to go on a day long “Cupcakeapalooza” as it was hash-tagged on Twitter, and gave this resounding endorsement of B&W.

“Our first stop was Baked & Wired. We liked the hipster feel to the place, as cupcakes are not pretentious food.  I loved that they had a Rock the Red cupcake to show support for the Washington Capitals playoff run (they clearly need it). We settled on a vanilla cupcake/chocolate icing cupcake, referred to as Karen’s Birthday, deciding to taste test a classic. I was a big fan right away of the shape and size of the cupcakes, the parchment wrapping and the amount of the icing. We cut the cupcake in half and dug in, and quickly realized the competition was over before it had begun, we have a winner!  The cake was moist, the icing was sweet and properly balanced to the cake, while deliciously chocolaty.  It was the perfect cupcake.”

- Thank you David for your support in crowning Baked and Wired as the #1 Cupcake in DC!

And so, with that my friends, if you are ever in the DC/Georgetown area you MUST go to Baked and Wired, no excuses!

1052 Thomas Jefferson Street NW

Washington, DC 20007

A huge THANK YOU to everyone who has followed my cupcake adventures thus far, it has been an absolutely amazing experience that has impacted me in more ways that I ever imagined. I could not have asked for a better place to take my love of baking to the next level then in DC, the CUPCAKE capital of the United States.

Don’t worry cupcake enthusiasts, the adventures are certainly not over! I plan on continuing to post as I find interesting things about cupcakes, new recipes, and in general, all things cupcake! After spending a semester so connected to cupcakes in so many ways, I have no intention of giving that up now. Next week I am going to post pictures of all the cupcake paraphernalia I received throughout the semester, I may be forever known as the girl who is obsessed with cupcakes but that is a title I will embrace with pride.

Until next time,

3 cheers for Baked and Wired cupcakes!!

- Crazy Queen of Cupcakes

p.s. Anyone who is still in D.C. go out and have a celebratory B&W Cupcake for me will you? :) Then send me pictures!

Just a few pictures of me with B&W Cupcakes numerous times this semester… I may have been obsessed.

So... embarrassing story: I didn't get a picture of my first B&W Cupcake... I ate it too fast without realizing I should take a picture... This was my second trip, worth it.

My grandmother wanted to try some of the cupcakes I had written so much about so I brought them to Florida for her to try on Spring Break

When Jane and Matt came to visit we ate a LOT of cupcakes.... and yet I still managed to have this much enthusiasm for my Mocha Cupcake from Baked and Wired!

My very last Baked and Wired cupcakes ... :'( They were so good and shared with such great company, but I still miss them! Can't wait to go back some day and try them again.

About amyaengle

A college cupcake connoisseur in pursuit of the perfect cupcake Washington, D.C. has to offer!
This entry was posted in May 2011 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The #1 Cupcake in DC: Baked and Wired!

  1. myblogject says:

    This post is fabulous! As is your blog. I must say I just fell in love with it when I saw your background. Great looking blog. I look forward to delving in further!

Leave a Reply

