Week #11: Confections Cupcakery

This week’s cupcake adventure was a special one for a special occasion! For the past 5 weeks, the Semester In Washington Journalism program has been working on a project with the Division of International Conservation and yesterday was our final presentation. Being the connoisseur that I am, I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate than with cupcakes!

Thanks to the NCACS hosting the first annual Cupcake Challenge, I met the wonderful women of Confections Cupcakery based out of Woodbridge, VA. After talking with them at the event, I decided I wanted to give their cupcakes another try and add them into my quest for the perfect cupcake. I was certainly not disappointed!

My classmates, director as well as consultant from the Division of International Conservation were all ‘wowed’ by the cupcakes we received!  We had all types of flavors to try including red velvet, cookies and cream, peanut butter cup, strawberry, mint, chocolate and best of all TIGER VANILLA! How is TIGER VANILLA different than your typical vanilla cupcake you might ask?

See for yourself!

I was SO impressed by the way Laura took my request for Tiger cupcakes and far exceeded my expectations! I am still giddy about it. I wish I lived in DC full time so I could get kitty cupcakes for many more occasions!

All our amazing cupcakes!

It was so hard to get myself to look past the cute kitty on the top of this cutesy cupcake but I knew I had to dig in and find out whether the cake beneath lived up to its incredible decoration.

Appearance: Obviously, appearance wise, this cupcake is the absolutely top notch for anything I’ve eaten this semester. I realize thats not entirely fair, because how often does one request a tiger cupcake? But the fact that Laura took my order just this week and pulled it off this well, I give it a 10!

Cake to Frosting Ratio: While the tiger was made extremely well with dabs of icing for the nose and ears, my classmates and I did discuss the cupcake to frosting ratio on all of the cupcakes and decided it was a bit high. I ended up licking off the top parts of the frosting to equalize the ratio before I ate the cake but in general I suppose that isn’t very lady-like so a cupcake with a little less frosting would make it so I wouldn’t have to!

Cake & Frosting: Once I had perfected the ratio I took my first bite and oh was it good! The vanilla cupcake was everything and more that I remember from childhood birthday parties. The cake was moist and full of flavor, while the soft buttercream icing on top blended so sweetly into the mix. I really can’t give a report on bites 1-6 (even 6 bites might be generous) because I was too caught up in the moment of cupcake bliss!

And so… Here’s the rundown!

I am SO glad that I ran into this group at the Cupcake Challenge and then got to try more of their cupcakes this week! I loved the way that their cupcakes were designed, with sprinkles of cake or other accoutrements on top of the beautifully swirled frosting on each one. If you are looking for beautiful cupcakes for any occasion and don’t want to hassle with having to pick them up, I would highly recommend Confections, you certainly won’t regret it!

Love the cute distinguishing touches!

Until next time… 3 cheers for Cupcakes!

– The Queen Connoisseur of Cupcakes

About amyaengle

A college cupcake connoisseur in pursuit of the perfect cupcake Washington, D.C. has to offer!
This entry was posted in April 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

