Week #11: Indigo Pineapple

Oh what a life for the Queen of Cupcakes! This past weekend went SO quickly and left me with many memories as well as a smile on my face. My brother and sister in law, Robert and Betsy, came to town Saturday afternoon and had a whole weekend of fun activities planned in celebration of Betsy’s birthday! After an afternoon of Cherry Blossoms by the tidal basin we headed back towards campus for a dinner at Tonic and of course a few birthday surprises!

They came at the perfect time to see the Cherry Blossoms in full bloom.

Before Robert and Betsy arrived, Robert and I did some secret planning to make the weekend a success. After networking the weekend before at NCACS Cupcake Challenge, I have become Facebook friends with many cupcake enthusiasts in the area, one of the sweetest and most responsive being Junnie Han of Indigo Pineapple.

After checking out Indigo Pineapple’s website as well as Facebook page, it didn’t take much for me to realize I NEEDED to ask Junnie if she could put her adorable fondant monkeys on some cupcakes for Betsy’s birthday. (We have an on-running joke, thanks to the comic strip Get Fuzzy) Of course, she immediately said she could do that no problem! Wow, cupcake bakers are amazing!

On Friday I went to go pick up my precious treats from Junnie who handed them over the metro turn-styles so that I didn’t even have to pay for my ride! (ShHh Don’t tell Metro) Despite a sad mishap with the monkeys (Poor Junnie and the disappearing/road kill monkey mess) I was more than excited to try my Red Velvet and Chocolate cupcakes!

I opted for decorating the box with PLENTY of monkeys to carry out the ridiculous theme, making Betsy all smiles as she opened her gifts. We all had a great time trying each of the cupcakes, the cream cheese frosting making a hit with Robert, while Betsy and I are both HUGE fans of Junnie’s ganache.

Here’s what we thought:

Appearance: While I’m sure Junnie’s original Monkeys were absolutely adorable, her cupcakes were classically cute all on their own, made in birthday cupcake wrappers with big colorful “button” sprinkles adorning the tops of each one πŸ™‚

Chocolate Cupcake with Chocolate Ganache

Cake: The cakes on both cupcakes was complimentary to the frostings that were chosen, as the chocolate flavors balanced out their sweet counterparts. Having had Indigo Pineapple’s Peppermint Paddy cupcake the weekend before, I think I could go for more of that same cake with these two frosting varieties.

Frosting: If you’re a cream cheese frosting lover, Indigo Pineapple’s red velvet is the one for you! On their website this frosting is also offered as a filling as well on custom ordered cakes, yum! The chocolate ganache was an oh-so-pleasant reminder of the Peppermint Patty I’d had just the week before. So good!

Red Velvet with "Say Cream Cheese" Frosting

Cake to Frosting Ratio: Betsy and I both agreed that the cake to frosting ratio on these cupcakes was a bit high, but we also discussed that it totally depends on the person. For someone like Robert who loved the cream cheese frosting, or Betsy and I who loved the chocolate ganache, we were more than happy to eat the extra off the top.

So, here’s the rundown!

If you take a look at Indigo Pineapple’s website you’ll see all the beautiful cookies, cakes and cupcakes they have created. They have serious talent over there! Make sure to check out their Facebook page too, that’s where I got the idea for the monkeys and who knows, it just might have the perfect inspiration for the cake you need for your next party!

Always happy with a cupcake in hand πŸ™‚

Can you believe I only have 2 more weeks of cupcakes here in DC?? It is insane how fast it has gone. Make sure to put in your vote or comment if you have a cupcakery you think I MUST try before I leave. Until then… 3 cheers for Monkey and Tiger cupcakes! πŸ˜€

– The Queen of All Things Cupcakes (Who knew there was so much paraphernalia??)

About amyaengle

A college cupcake connoisseur in pursuit of the perfect cupcake Washington, D.C. has to offer!
This entry was posted in April 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

