Week #13: Hello Cupcake!

Aw… Hello to you too! πŸ™‚ jk jk This week I finally got a chance to go some place that I’ve heard about since I kid you not, week #2. Insane how fast time goes! The same night that I went to Red Velvet Cupcakery, Rebecca who went with me had just gone to Hello Cupcake in Dupont! This city is truly crazy about cupcakes.

On Tuesday night, the SIWJ kids were lucky enough to get to go to the Nationals game against the Phillies and join in with the crowd that is consistently known for cheering for the other team. πŸ™‚ Okay, one might say that seeing the Nationals is all that great, but I was still excited to go because that means its BASEBALL season in St. Louis which means CARDNIALS games and SUMMER! Awesome.

Before the game, Ashley and I met up to begin our cupcake adventures walking just across the street from the DuPont Circle metro stop to ‘Hello Cupcake’ a cute little cupcake shop whose name says it all. Inside the shop was a combination of super cutesy and yet sophisticated, with smiling faces ready to hand over your sweet.

Wasting no time, Ashley and I began to survey the rundown, quizzing the Hello Cupcake experts who didn’t ever miss a beat. When asked what THE BEST cupcake was that they had to offer, I was told I MUST have the peanut butter blossom, and from the looks of the dozen or so that were tempting me behind the case, I knew they were right. It had a Hershey Kiss on top! I knew I couldn’t go wrong with that.

Peanut Butter Blossom Cupcake!

Dipping my finger into the peanut butter frosting, as any proper cupcake connoisseur might do, I was delighted at the soft whipped frosting and then even more excited about the taste! It was perfectly peanut buttery and yet light and sweet enough that it wasn’t overwhelming as directly out of the jar. MmMm … So here’s what I thought.

Enjoying my sweet treat from the comfort of a familiar spot ... Panera! (aka St. Louis Bread Company)

Appearace: Super cute with a great cupcake shape and whipped peanut butter frosting swirled perfectly on top it definitely enticed me to want to bite right in! On top of that the Hershey kiss pulled it all together on top, giving it a little touch that makes all the difference.

Cake: I was slightly dissappointed in the chocolate cake that was used as a base for this classic chocolate and peanut butter mix because it wasn’t especially chocolatey. The guy at Reeses are doing something right because their blend of chocolate and peanut butter is spot on, while this cake left me unable to satisfy the ongoing desire for more chocolate.

Frosting: So light, sweet, and fluffy, I loved it! There is some magic in being able to make a peanut butter frosting just right, and Hello Cupcake has definitely found it.

Cake to Frosting ratio: It was a good thing I loved the frosting, because I spent the first 10 minutes eating half of it off the top before I even started into the cake… πŸ™‚ Whoops. With half of it gone and spread equally on the top of the cupcake, the perfect ratio was then achieved.

What a great chance to hit another local spot! In talking with other Hello Cupcake enthusiasts at the shop I was told about many of their other great flavors that are must-haves including 24-carrot and tiramisu. Both sound absolutely delectable to me! Next week I am DETERMINED to track down Curbside Cupcake… Gotta make my plan of attack πŸ™‚ and then in just a couple weeks we will have THE GRAND REVEAL! πŸ˜€ Get excited.

3 Cheers for the Cupcake Capital!

– Could I get any crazier about cupcakes??

About amyaengle

A college cupcake connoisseur in pursuit of the perfect cupcake Washington, D.C. has to offer!
This entry was posted in April 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week #13: Hello Cupcake!

  1. I thought you were going to try their vegan cupcake! We will need to go together so you could try one. Maybe it will score higher on your report card πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

