The Cup: St. Louis’ BEST Cupcake

Okay, so I’ve been holding out on all of you … I should have told you sooner, I know, I know, but I think I’ve told a fair number of you via Facebook… Twitter… obsessive comments … cupcake centered conversations … I mean, if you’ve talked to me at all this summer, I’m convinced you couldn’t miss it. So what is this that I’ve been holding out on you, you ask?

This blog has taken me farther than I ever could have imagined. It started off pretty average. Sure, I was going to talk about cupcakes, anyone could do that, but I was going to go above and beyond, trying every single cupcake shop in DC that I could find. I was going to rate each shop based on my personal preference, whatever weight that could possibly hold. From there it has been an incredible adventure. I’ve met amazing people, tried an obsessive number of cupcakes, got an insane number of page views and at the end of it all, landed an incredible internship with The Cup Cupcake Bakery in St. Louis for the summer. (Formerly known as The Cupcakery for anyone curious) Who knew you could intern for a cupcake shop?? Leave it to meΒ  to come up with something so crazy and perfect for me.

The Central West End is the perfect place to walk around and grab dinner and a cupcake!

Before I started at The Cup (okay, ONE day before) I twisted my friend Kristin’s arm to go down and try out a cupcake with me, so I could officially say I had tried them before I started trying to market them! Ironically, Kristin was headed off to DC for the summer just a couple days later, so it was appropriate to send her off to the cupcake capital with the lingering taste of sweet cupcakes. Walking into the shop I was so excited at everything I saw. Not having actually been to the shop before this summer I was immediately tickled by the calm yet inviting atmosphere, in which you were given adequate time to survey and contemplate your ever important cupcake flavor decision. With free wifi and a great seating area I wish The Cup had a location in Omaha! (hint… hint…)

Real plates, Real forks, Real Happy πŸ™‚

While I really wanted to try every single cupcake, I decided on the Grasshopper because I have always been a huge fan of chocolate and mint combo, especially when it includes an Andes mint on top! The fact that I was even craving cupcakes at all was huge because after leaving DC I couldn’t bare to look at another cupcake, nonetheless crave one. I tried a couple grasshopper cupcakes in DC and wasn’t quite satisfied with either one, so this was a personal test that I was putting The Cup up to … would their grasshopper cut the cake? (te he) Would it be up to snub? (Or snob if you want to call me that in regards to cupcakes…) Grabbing a fork and knife (KUDOS to The Cup for knowing exactly how I like to eat my cupcakes!) we headed OUTSIDE into the sunny warm summer day to sit under super cute green and blue umbrella tables.

Me and Kristin outside The Cup

I discovered something incredible that summer morning … The Cup does not produce anything but absolutely irresistible cupcakes. Seriously. Having worked for over 8 weeks now I can say I’ve tried nearly all of our cupcakes and not a single one has left me disappointed. Despite telling myself that I only needed a couple bites of the Grasshopper, I kept going back and finished it by mid afternoon. Going over each flavor and what makes it incredible would make this already long blog post into another short novella so I won’t do that, but what I WILL tell you is what stands out to me about The Cup’s Cupcakes.

The SIZE of a Cup Cupcake is perfect, bigger than anything you would make a home, but small enough to manage on your own πŸ™‚ More importantly is the TASTE and TEXTURE of these cupcakes and their frosting. It is impeccable. After the grasshopper, I tried a peanut butter cup cupcake with John’s Aunt Angela at our Springfield location and I was overwhelmed at how well they had perfected the combination. All of their frosting flavors are buttercream based, making them light and perfectly flavored with other accoutrements. The peanut butter frosting is beyond expectation, so light, so fluffy, so perfectly peanut buttery in combination with the perfectly moist dark chocolate cake…are you in the car driving to get one now? πŸ™‚ (Oh yeah, and to top it off are pieces of real Reeses’ Peanut Butter cups…#winning)

Just to taunt you some more ...

One of the most important criteria in my judging this past semester was based on the CAKE TO FROSTING ratio, a crucial part of the experience of course. Once again, I don’t know how they do it, but The Cup has absolutely mastered it. Each cupcake is perfectly swirled just like their logo would indicate but instead of a mountain of frosting, it is a flattened swirl, creating what I believe to be the perfect 4 parts cake to 1 part frosting ratio. I later learned that this is very intentional, and that the bakers will indeed pull cupcakes off the front display if they have too much frosting (We can’t be messin up our reputation!) I also learned that the extra accessories on top of each cupcake are used to give it that satisfying cupcake taste without having it be made out of a leaning tower of frosting! Love it.

So there you have it, I have officially gushed over my #1, hands down FAVORITE, cupcake shop. Beyond the cupcakes themselves, I have been shown once again that cupcakes are about more than just the cake. The people behind these cupcakes are what make them even more incredible. Everyone who I’ve gotten the chance to work with this summer has been an absolute blessing, and I cannot wait to see where they take The Cup in the future!! If you want more information about The Cup or score awesome exclusive deals, check out our Facebook page! (I may have created the fan gating logo… πŸ™‚ )

Still Cuckoo for Cupcakes …

Love,

The Cupcake Girl

Okay so … I may have had these just a couple times this summer. πŸ™‚ Of Course … Here are a couple more pictures to tease you just in case I haven’t adequately convinced you yet.

Gotta love a boy who matches his shirt to his cupcake πŸ™‚

Claiming me as a bad sister for never bringing home cupcakes, I satisfied my brother's craving wth a whole assortment of my favorites, decorated with patriotism for the 4th of July

We decided we wanted to try them all πŸ™‚

About amyaengle

A college cupcake connoisseur in pursuit of the perfect cupcake Washington, D.C. has to offer!
This entry was posted in Summer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Cup: St. Louis’ BEST Cupcake

  1. moniuqe says:

    great cupcakes!!!!!

Leave a Reply

