Sunshine… What a wonderful thing :)

Hi friends!

mh

I know it’s been a LONG time coming but tonight I’ve decided to write another post. Β πŸ™‚Β I’ve been wanting to come back to my cupcake blog for some time now but haven’t found the right inspiration until tonight, after spending a little time with the girls I love so much. For most of you who know me, I don’t know that sorority girl would be the way I would describe myself. Yes, I can have my crazy moments (especially after midnight) and yes, I can be a bit girly at times (really though brothers, comparatively I’m not bad!) but for the most part I’m pretty quiet, independent, and definitely not into the drama that girls have a tendency to dwell on. For the past month, however, I’ve been in full-fledged sorority girl recruitment mode, spending more time with girls than I ever imagined. And, I still love it.

On Wednesday nights we have Chapter, a time for all of us to get together for an hour, hear from one another about upcoming events and listening to presentations by our sisters challenging us to grow. One of my very favorite parts of chapter is when we do SUNSHINE πŸ™‚ Sunshine is a chance to send some love to one of your sisters for really any reason, usually just to make them smile. Best of all, along with those smiles comes a delicious BAKED GOOD. Of course that would hook me in, eh? πŸ™‚ But I swear I love it for more than just that. I love the way it brings girls together, the way that Adie (our Sunshine chair person) reads through the messages and the pictures she choses to place with them each week. Sunshine is about girls recognizing one another in a way that we are so rarely willing to do, and I absolutely love it.

Tonight, Adie’s treat for all those who received SUNSHINE was Red Velvet Cupcakes … And thus began my inspiration for writing this post tonight πŸ™‚ Adie has such an incredible personality, and as we all found out tonight, her family is just as amazing as she is. Fun Fact: Adie’s family owns Don Carmelo’s Pizzeria — which is where she is able to mass produce the baked goods needed for the amount of sunshine shed in these dreary winter months! Trying to wait tables/create her powerpoint/stalk awesome pictures of all of us to put with said powerpoint left Adie scrambling until without hesitation, her father (Owner of Don Carmello’s) and brother decided to take on the task at hand! They lovingly frosted each cupcake and even scouted out sprinkles from the cookie company next door, pretty good for some guys who usually make pizza pies!

Of course I tried one of Adie’s cupcakes and they were absolutely delicious. I love a subtle red velvet covered in classic vanilla frosting and a couple sprinkles to complete thatsatisfying birthday-cupcake memory.Β Best of all was the story behind the cupcake, picturing the chaos that ensued, the joy of a family working together, and the smiles on all of my sisters faces as our SUNSHINE encouraged and uplifted each other. It’s nights like these that remind me why I love cupcakes so much. They’re small and yet so special, always ready to make someone’s day. πŸ™‚

I really am going to try to get back in the swing of things, writing up posts regularly whether I visit a new cupcake shop or find something interesting cupcake related online. I did visit 4 cupcake shops while I was in Europe so I should definitely get on the ball and write about all of those soon! Until then, don’t forget to smile at the SUNSHINE in your life πŸ™‚

– Crazy About Cupcake Love

About amyaengle

A college cupcake connoisseur in pursuit of the perfect cupcake Washington, D.C. has to offer!
This entry was posted in Spring 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

